Bar Opus:#CocktailMasterclass & Afternoon Tea

by Dave, The Buffet Slayer

I always feel like events and blogging go quiet just before Christmas, so I was really excited to receive an invite via Clive Reeves PR to a blogger event for mid January!

#Cocktail Masterclass at Bar Opus

Bar Opus is based in Birmingham Colmore Business District at the back of Snow Hill Station in Birmingham, and last moth the Midland Metro appeared right outside of the windows! Trams in the city! Again! *Looks back at Manchester*

I’ve been here a several times in its first year and found everybody very lovely indeed! They didn’t even need to give me this Masterclass to get me to say that. Their staff and after work £5 cocktails do that alone!

I love going to blogging events at venue where I know I’m going to have a great time. It’s the customer service that sets this venue apart from your average bar. That’s really important when you have the selection of venues we are lucky enough to enjoy in Birmingham.

I found Brummie Gourmand outside taking photos of the building, and we were the first to arrive. There were seven of us in total for this Cocktail Masterclass experience and this was a good number. We stood in a square at pre-prepared high tables, with bottles of gin and assorted ingredients, plus a single playing card on each table. *Mysterious*

20160116_152209
Ingredients at the ready

Bar Manager Sam was on hand to help us create our first cocktails.

I’m terrible with glass! I feel I should point this out right now. I can smash a glass by looking at it. So it was a little bit of a risk for them getting me to pour the measures into the first glass, as it seemed like one that I would place into the “At Risk” category.

20160116_152916
Mellow Yellow!

 Anyway we made a Mellow Yellow, which consisted of Williams Chase GB Extra Dry Gin and a bunch of ingredients that I didn’t take actual note of. It was a fresh Summery cocktail, which myself and co-conspirator Brumderland drank in about a quarter of the time of everyone else! We looked around to see what was next, and realised that we would have to wait for the others to catch up!

We were invited to turn over the playing card on each of our tables. Each number relates to a challenge! I’d probably need more Dutch Courage to attempt some of them, but it would be great for a group that either works together or was there for a birthday.

20160116_160342
#ChaseMe Cocktail

Our second cocktail was called #ChaseMe made with Chase Rhubarb Vodka, apple juice and lemon juice! This was a lovely tasting cocktail, even though I preferred the first. We used the cocktail shaker and glass to shake and pour this ourselves, I did manage to get the glass stuck into the shaker, and had to be assisted by Sam to help separate them. The glass for this was a much more sturdy thick Martini glass, so I felt a lot happier making drinks with it.

It’s pretty great trying a class like this and imagining how people booking would feel about coming here for the first time. I’m confident they wouldn’t be disappointed.


Afternoon Tea at Bar Opus

As our class finished we were told we were having afternoon tea. THREE x three tiers of cake stands appeared!

20160116_162020
Afternoon Tea

Great cakes, tasty sandwiches and scones with yummy jam and cream! This is something to consider if you are looking for great afternoon tea in Birmingham. I had  cup of tea with it too but didn’t take a picture of that.

However… THIS APPEARED!

20160116_162354
Floozie in the Jacuzzi sharing cocktail!!

I know!!

This was a great sharing cocktail, and we were given two between the 7 of use. I didn’t drink it from the glass but the picture speaks for itself!

Visit the Bar Opus website here: baropus.co.uk to find out more about the bar itself and took treat someone to a Cocktail Masterclass or Afternoon Tea!


Huge thanks to Clive Reeves PR for inviting me and Irene Allen  for having such a great venue in Birmingham!

I’ve NOT been paid to write this nor did I pay for anything on the day. My views are my own.